Touched netizen reveals Song Joong Ki’s act of kindness

Song Joong Ki signed DVD

Song Joong Ki has always been one of my favourite actors, not only because of his brilliance in acting but also his kind nature. Now the actor managed to touch the hearts of many Koreans after a netizen made an appreciation post for how Song Joong Ki went out of his way to send a gift to his terminally ill girlfriend.

Korean netizen Park Ki Woo shared on an online community website ‘Today’s Humor’ a lengthy, yet heart-warming story of how he wrote a letter to Song Joong Ki, who is still serving in the military, because his dying girlfriend was a huge fan of the actor. He describes how he didn’t even think he had a chance his letter to be read among all fan letters the actor receives, and how surprised and touched he was when he received not only a reply letter but also a gift with signed DVD of movie ‘A Werewolf Boy’.

Read almost the full letter (as it is really long) below:

“Hello.

This is the first post I have ever written since I joined Today Humor. I’m glad that my first post on Today Humor is that of a meaningful one, except I’m not very good at writing so I’m not very sure that I’ll be able to properly deliver today’s surprising incident.

It’s exactly what the title of this post says; my girlfriend received a gift from [actor] Song Joong Ki. It was an autographed Special Limited Edition DVD of his movie, ‘A Werewolf Boy.’ I never even thought about such a thing and was extremely surprised because it was so unexpected.

I’m positive that my girlfriend is loving this right now, too. This was a gift that came for my girlfriend, but since she is no longer in the position to accept it herself, I received it in place of her. I know that she is probably loving this just as much as I am even though I can’t see her love it with my own eyes.

For the last year and half, my girlfriend suffered as a Stage IV Colorectal cancer patient before passing away in January of this new year.

… I thought that for the remainder of the time that she has left, I need to do whatever it takes to make her as happy as possible while making her laugh and smile. Something surprising… let’s give her a gift. I need to let her meet who she’s always been wanting to meet. The person she loved so much… that one actor she really liked…

Song Joong Ki…

Now that I look back, it was a really random idea, but the thought of wanting to get her to meet Song Joong Ki was the first thing that popped into my head.

… I had to get her to meet Song Joong Ki or at least get some kind of handwritten letter or encouragement shout out from him—I was so determined to write a letter to him… I enclosed the letter in a white enveloped and sent it off to Song Joong Ki, praying that it would be delivered to him without any issues and that my boring white envelope among all his other fans’ letters would get read. That night, not only was I the only one who wrote a letter to him, but my girlfriend’s friends all sent a letter to him as well as to his agency. I felt to hopeless and sad when one of my friends said that many of Song Joong Ki’s letter go unread because he gets so many. However, I decided to have some faith.

Since then, a month had passed and just like the hospital said, my girlfriend left us. Because I was constantly spending the last month by her side, I was extremely busy all throughout the month of January. I forgot about the letter I had sent to Song Joong Ki. No, I actually gave up on it. Just like my friend had said, among all those fan letter he received, I didn’t think he got the chance to read my letter. Since my girlfriend was already gone by now, I thought to myself that it was now useless.

But then today…
I saw that I had a package in my home mailbox that said it was from Song Joong Ki’s agency. The date of delivery stamped on the package was January 12th, but since I was so busy during January, it got left in the mailroom until today (February 14th). At first I was confused because the name of who sent the package was some kind of entertainment company. I thought that maybe it was the skincare product I ordered the day before and opened up the package. I pulled out the letter that was enclosed and was so surprised, I immediately contacted my friends and all of my girlfriend’s friends with pictures I had taken of the content.

I was so surprised with the fact that of all the letters he received, mine was read and it was honestly something that he could have just read and ignored or thought was just a lie or ploy to get an autograph. However, he believed in the letter and went out of his own way to care for my girlfriend. I was so thankful.

… This upcoming Lunar New Year, I’m going to have to take this gift and place it at her grave site and also send another letter to Song Joong Ki, thanking him… thanking him with all my heart… thanking him for believing in something that could have easily been ignored…

I’m writing this post just to show my appreciation [for Song Joong Ki], but it ended up being so long. Thank you all for taking the time to read such a long post… I pray that everyone is happy in this new year.”

Source: Today’s Humor

Leave a Reply

